NAFEM Presents Carpenter and President's Awards

Longtime members Cobb and Ek honored during The NAFEM Show. 

The North American Association of Food Equipment Manufacturers (NAFEM) presented Steven D. Cobb, CFSP, chairman and CEO, Henny Penny Corporation, Eaton, Ohio, with the 2013 William W. Carpenter Award and David Ek with the NAFEM President's Award.

The William W. Carpenter Award is the association's highest honor, given to a foodservice industry professional who has continually contributed to NAFEM's success and to the enrichment of the industry at-large.

Cobb joined the foodservice equipment and supplies industry and Henny Penny Corporation 25 years ago. His tenure with NAFEM lasted 13 years, highlighted by a term as The NAFEM Show chair in 1999 and serving as the organization's president in 2004 to 2005. Among his many contributions to NAFEM is oversight of the business plan and financial model that was created when NAFEM became a self-operating organization. In addition, he was instrumental in retooling NAFEM's strategic planning process, thus charting a course for NAFEM's relevance and growth for decades to come. "His many contributions to NAFEM and his commitment to the end user customer have provided direction and inspiration to all of us over the years," said Thomas R. Campion, CFSP, current NAFEM president and president of Franke Foodservice Systems, Smyrna, Tenn.

The NAFEM President's Award recognizes a non-elected NAFEM volunteer who has donated their time and expertise for the betterment of the association. Among the variety of roles Ek has held with NAFEM are committee participant, board member, secretary, treasurer and vice president. In 1992, he was president of the organization and he served as The NAFEM Show chair in 1995.

Related Articles
  • Put a Ring on It!
    Or, customer engagement in an age of virtualization. Sometimes there i...